Partager cette page
Projets

Call n°3

R&D Formation

LIONEL

Under LIONEL project, the company Physiol has developed, in conjunction with ULg, and patented a new type of hybrid material for making soft intra-ocular lenses with which the standard manufacturing process is not compatible.

The LIONEL project concerns the development of an innovative process of submicronic precision designed primarily for manufacturing intra-ocular lenses but adaptable to other micro-objects.

These soft intra-ocular lenses, which are distributed in 48 countries, replace the eye’s natural lens and serve as implants for people with cataracts. With an annual output of 200,000 lenses, Physiol is competing with the big names in the pharmaceutical industry.

The result?

This project has led to the development of new materials, a new multifocal optical implant design, and a new micromolding manufacturing process for a new generation of intra-ocular lenses that accounts for 45% of the company’s turnover.

Markets

Health & Wellness

Technology

Advanced and Active Materials and Surfaces

Consortium

Projets

Appel n°3

R&D Formation

LIONEL

Dans le cadre du projet LIONEL, la société Physiol a mis au point, en collaboration avec l’ULG, et breveté un nouveau concept de matériau hybride destiné à la confection de lentilles intraoculaires souples.

Le projet LIONEL concerne la mise au point d’un procédé de fabrication innovant avec une précision submicronique adaptée en priorité aux lentilles intraoculaires, mais pouvant être adapté à d’autres micro objets.

Distribuées dans 48 pays, ces lentilles intraoculaires souples remplacent le cristallin et font office d’implants pour les personnes atteintes de la cataracte. Avec une production de 200.000 lentilles par an, Physiol rivalise avec les grands noms de l’industrie pharmaceutique.

Résultats ?

Ce projet a permis de développer de nouveaux matériaux, un nouveau design optique «Multifocal» et un nouveau procédé de fabrication par micro moulage pour une nouvelle génération de lentilles intraoculaires, ce qui représente 45% du CA.

Les marchés

Santé et bien-être

Les technologies

Matériaux et surfaces avancés et actifs

Consortium

Médias

Processing...
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
ErrorHere