Projets

R&D

CARDIAMMONIA

Nuclear medicine is a well-established market in oncology. IBA and Elysia are two Walloon companies that are very active in this field. IBA has long-standing experience in providing comprehensive solutions for radiopharmaceutical distribution centres. These solutions include production plant from various partners, of which Elysia is one.

Besides high quality production equipment, the two companies have built up in-depth experience in setting up radiopharmaceutical production centres that meet GMP (good manufacturing practices) standards and those set by hospital nuclear medicine labs.

Today, PET (position emissions tomography) is a branch of nuclear medicine that also has applications in neurology and cardiology. Nuclear cardiology uses non-invasive MPI (myocardial perfusion imaging) examination techniques to assess the heart’s pumping ability and to detect the presence of ischaemia or lesions. The high quality imagery provided by PET scanners can allow more accurate diagnosis. That can help to determine the best treatment in turn.

To make this technology more accessible in hospitals, IBA, Elysia, and the universities of Liège and Louvain-la-Neuve have decided to pool their resources and technological expertise to work on the next generation of radio-isotope production solutions for cardiac applications. This collaboration will make a major contribution to the growth of cardiac PET worldwide in the years to come.

Markets

Health & Wellness

Consortium

Processing...
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
ErrorHere

Projets

Appel n°26

R&D

CARDIAMMONIA

Le marché de la médecine nucléaire est bien établi en oncologie. IBA et Elysia, deux sociétés wallonnes, sont très actives dans ce domaine. IBA a une longue expérience dans la fourniture de solutions globales pour des centres de distribution de radiopharmaceutique, intégrant divers équipements de production issus de plusieurs partenaires, dont Elysia.

Outre des équipements de production de haute qualité, les deux sociétés ont développé une expérience approfondie dans la mise en place de centres de production de radiopharmaceutique satisfaisant aux normes imposées par les BPF (Bonnes Pratiques de Fabrication) et de laboratoires de médecine nucléaire en milieu hospitalier.

Aujourd’hui, la médecine nucléaire TEP (Tomographie par Emission de Positrons) s’étend également à la neurologie et à la cardiologie. La cardiologie nucléaire utilise des techniques non invasives d’examen de perfusion myocardique en vue d’évaluer la capacité de pompage du cœur et de déceler la présence d’ischémie ou de lésions. L’imagerie de haute qualité des scanners TEP peut fournir un diagnostic plus précis, ce qui peut aider à définir le meilleur traitement.
Afin de rendre cette technologie plus accessible dans les hôpitaux, IBA, Elysia et les universités de Liège et de Louvain-la-Neuve ont décidé de réunir leurs ressources et leurs expertises technologiques pour travailler sur la prochaine génération de solution de production de radioisotopes pour les applications cardiaques. Cette collaboration contribuera grandement à la croissance du TEP cardiaque au niveau mondial dans les années à venir.

Projet co-labellisé avec BioWin.

Les marchés

Santé et bien-être

Consortium